rebase docs: recommend `-r` over `-p`
authorJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Tue, 28 May 2019 12:42:16 +0000 (05:42 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 28 May 2019 20:22:35 +0000 (13:22 -0700)
The `--preserve-merges` option is now deprecated in favor of
`--rebase-merges`; Let's stop recommending the former.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-rebase.txt

index 6304737..274870f 100644 (file)
@@ -670,7 +670,8 @@ $ git rebase -i HEAD~5
 
 And move the first patch to the end of the list.
 
 
 And move the first patch to the end of the list.
 
-You might want to preserve merges, if you have a history like this:
+You might want to recreate merge commits, e.g. if you have a history
+like this:
 
 ------------------
            X
 
 ------------------
            X
@@ -684,7 +685,7 @@ Suppose you want to rebase the side branch starting at "A" to "Q". Make
 sure that the current HEAD is "B", and call
 
 -----------------------------
 sure that the current HEAD is "B", and call
 
 -----------------------------
-$ git rebase -i -p --onto Q O
+$ git rebase -i -r --onto Q O
 -----------------------------
 
 Reordering and editing commits usually creates untested intermediate
 -----------------------------
 
 Reordering and editing commits usually creates untested intermediate