git-gui: Fix gitk search in $PATH to work on Windows
authorShawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
Wed, 30 Jul 2008 05:36:58 +0000 (22:36 -0700)
committerShawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
Wed, 30 Jul 2008 05:41:23 +0000 (22:41 -0700)
Back in 15430be5a1 ("Look for gitk in $PATH, not $LIBEXEC/git-core")
git-gui learned to use [_which gitk] to locate where gitk's script
is as Git 1.6 will install gitk to $prefix/bin (in $PATH) and all
of the other tools are in $gitexecdir.

This failed on Windows because _which adds the ".exe" suffix as it
searches for the program on $PATH, under the assumption that we can
only execute something from Tcl if it is a proper Windows executable.

When scanning for gitk on Windows we need to omit the ".exe" suffix.

Signed-off-by: Shawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
git-gui.sh

index ce941ad..14b2d9a 100755 (executable)
@@ -317,7 +317,7 @@ proc _git_cmd {name} {
        return $v
 }
 
-proc _which {what} {
+proc _which {what args} {
        global env _search_exe _search_path
 
        if {$_search_path eq {}} {
@@ -340,8 +340,14 @@ proc _which {what} {
                }
        }
 
+       if {[is_Windows] && [lsearch -exact $args -script] >= 0} {
+               set suffix {}
+       } else {
+               set suffix $_search_exe
+       }
+
        foreach p $_search_path {
-               set p [file join $p $what$_search_exe]
+               set p [file join $p $what$suffix]
                if {[file exists $p]} {
                        return [file normalize $p]
                }
@@ -1686,7 +1692,7 @@ proc do_gitk {revs} {
        # -- Always start gitk through whatever we were loaded with.  This
        #    lets us bypass using shell process on Windows systems.
        #
-       set exe [_which gitk]
+       set exe [_which gitk -script]
        set cmd [list [info nameofexecutable] $exe]
        if {$exe eq {}} {
                error_popup [mc "Couldn't find gitk in PATH"]