format-patch: ignore ui.color
authorPang Yan Han <pangyanhan@gmail.com>
Mon, 12 Sep 2011 17:46:41 +0000 (01:46 +0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 12 Sep 2011 18:43:58 +0000 (11:43 -0700)
commit c9bfb953 (want_color: automatically fallback to color.ui,
2011-08-17) introduced a regression where format-patch produces colorized
patches when color.ui is set to "always".

In f3aafa4 (Disable color detection during format-patch, 2006-07-09),
git_format_config was taught to intercept diff.color to avoid passing it
down to git_log_config and later, git_diff_ui_config.

Teach git_format_config to intercept color.ui in the same way.

Helped-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Pang Yan Han <pangyanhan@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/log.c
t/t4014-format-patch.sh

index d760ee0..f5d4930 100644 (file)
@@ -608,7 +608,8 @@ static int git_format_config(const char *var, const char *value, void *cb)
                string_list_append(&extra_cc, value);
                return 0;
        }
-       if (!strcmp(var, "diff.color") || !strcmp(var, "color.diff")) {
+       if (!strcmp(var, "diff.color") || !strcmp(var, "color.diff") ||
+           !strcmp(var, "color.ui")) {
                return 0;
        }
        if (!strcmp(var, "format.numbered")) {
index 92248d2..15bd4a6 100755 (executable)
@@ -869,4 +869,12 @@ test_expect_success 'empty subject prefix does not have extra space' '
        test_cmp expect actual
 '
 
+test_expect_success 'format patch ignores color.ui' '
+       test_unconfig color.ui &&
+       git format-patch --stdout -1 >expect &&
+       test_config color.ui always &&
+       git format-patch --stdout -1 >actual &&
+       test_cmp expect actual
+'
+
 test_done