connect: replace inet_ntop with getnameinfo
authorBenjamin Kramer <benny.kra@googlemail.com>
Fri, 24 Apr 2009 12:16:41 +0000 (14:16 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 25 Apr 2009 16:29:38 +0000 (09:29 -0700)
inet_ntop is not protocol independent.
getnameinfo(3) is part of POSIX and is available when getaddrinfo(3) is.
This code is only compiled when NO_IPV6 isn't defined.

The old method was buggy anyway, not every ipv6 address was converted
properly because the buffer (addr) was too small.

Signed-off-by: Benjamin Kramer <benny.kra@googlemail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
connect.c

index 7636bf9..f6b8ba6 100644 (file)
--- a/connect.c
+++ b/connect.c
@@ -177,18 +177,11 @@ static enum protocol get_protocol(const char *name)
 
 static const char *ai_name(const struct addrinfo *ai)
 {
-       static char addr[INET_ADDRSTRLEN];
-       if ( AF_INET == ai->ai_family ) {
-               struct sockaddr_in *in;
-               in = (struct sockaddr_in *)ai->ai_addr;
-               inet_ntop(ai->ai_family, &in->sin_addr, addr, sizeof(addr));
-       } else if ( AF_INET6 == ai->ai_family ) {
-               struct sockaddr_in6 *in;
-               in = (struct sockaddr_in6 *)ai->ai_addr;
-               inet_ntop(ai->ai_family, &in->sin6_addr, addr, sizeof(addr));
-       } else {
+       static char addr[NI_MAXHOST];
+       if (getnameinfo(ai->ai_addr, ai->ai_addrlen, addr, sizeof(addr), NULL, 0,
+                       NI_NUMERICHOST) != 0)
                strcpy(addr, "(unknown)");
-       }
+
        return addr;
 }