README: Git is released under the GPLv2, not just "the GPL"
authorStefano Lattarini <stefano.lattarini@gmail.com>
Fri, 14 Dec 2012 15:37:47 +0000 (16:37 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 16 Dec 2012 06:22:53 +0000 (22:22 -0800)
And this is clearly stressed by Linus in the COPYING file.  So make it
clear in the README as well, to avoid possible misunderstandings.

Signed-off-by: Stefano Lattarini <stefano.lattarini@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
README

diff --git a/README b/README
index d2690ec..96822e3 100644 (file)
--- a/README
+++ b/README
@@ -19,7 +19,9 @@ Git is a fast, scalable, distributed revision control system with an
 unusually rich command set that provides both high-level operations
 and full access to internals.
 
-Git is an Open Source project covered by the GNU General Public License.
+Git is an Open Source project covered by the GNU General Public
+License version 2 (some parts of it are under different licenses,
+compatible with the GPLv2).
 It was originally written by Linus Torvalds with help of a group of
 hackers around the net. It is currently maintained by Junio C Hamano.