git-branch: display "was sha1" on branch deletion rather than just "sha1"
authorBrandon Casey <drafnel@gmail.com>
Sun, 22 Mar 2009 00:09:17 +0000 (19:09 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 22 Mar 2009 00:30:51 +0000 (17:30 -0700)
Make it more pleasant to read about a branch deletion by adding "was".
Jeff King suggested this, and I ignored it.  He was right.

Update t3200 test again to match the change in output.

Signed-off-by: Brandon Casey <drafnel@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin-branch.c
t/t3200-branch.sh

index 02fa38f..23b6949 100644 (file)
@@ -165,7 +165,7 @@ static int delete_branches(int argc, const char **argv, int force, int kinds)
                        ret = 1;
                } else {
                        struct strbuf buf = STRBUF_INIT;
-                       printf("Deleted %sbranch %s (%s).\n", remote, argv[i],
+                       printf("Deleted %sbranch %s (was %s).\n", remote, argv[i],
                                find_unique_abbrev(sha1, DEFAULT_ABBREV));
                        strbuf_addf(&buf, "branch.%s", argv[i]);
                        if (git_config_rename_section(buf.buf, NULL) < 0)
index 61a2010..1b1e9ec 100755 (executable)
@@ -195,7 +195,7 @@ test_expect_success 'test deleting branch deletes branch config' \
 test_expect_success 'test deleting branch without config' \
     'git branch my7 s &&
      sha1=$(git rev-parse my7 | cut -c 1-7) &&
-     test "$(git branch -d my7 2>&1)" = "Deleted branch my7 ($sha1)."'
+     test "$(git branch -d my7 2>&1)" = "Deleted branch my7 (was $sha1)."'
 
 test_expect_success 'test --track without .fetch entries' \
     'git branch --track my8 &&