git.txt: add missing info about --git-dir command-line option
authorManlio Perillo <manlio.perillo@gmail.com>
Thu, 13 Dec 2012 17:57:19 +0000 (18:57 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 13 Dec 2012 18:54:01 +0000 (10:54 -0800)
Unlike other environment variables (e.g. GIT_WORK_TREE, GIT_NAMESPACE),
the Documentation/git.txt file did not mention that the GIT_DIR
environment variable can also be set using the --git-dir command line
option.

Signed-off-by: Manlio Perillo <manlio.perillo@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git.txt

index e643683..60db292 100644 (file)
@@ -650,6 +650,7 @@ git so take care if using Cogito etc.
        If the 'GIT_DIR' environment variable is set then it
        specifies a path to use instead of the default `.git`
        for the base of the repository.
+       The '--git-dir' command-line option also sets this value.
 
 'GIT_WORK_TREE'::
        Set the path to the working tree.  The value will not be