Create read_or_die utility routine.
authorShawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
Sat, 23 Dec 2006 07:33:55 +0000 (02:33 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Fri, 29 Dec 2006 19:36:44 +0000 (11:36 -0800)
Like write_or_die read_or_die reads the entire length requested
or it kills the current process with a die call.

Signed-off-by: Shawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
cache.h
write_or_die.c

diff --git a/cache.h b/cache.h
index cc87244..e6b7164 100644 (file)
--- a/cache.h
+++ b/cache.h
@@ -428,6 +428,7 @@ extern char *git_commit_encoding;
 extern char *git_log_output_encoding;
 
 extern int copy_fd(int ifd, int ofd);
 extern char *git_log_output_encoding;
 
 extern int copy_fd(int ifd, int ofd);
+extern void read_or_die(int fd, void *buf, size_t count);
 extern void write_or_die(int fd, const void *buf, size_t count);
 extern int write_or_whine(int fd, const void *buf, size_t count, const char *msg);
 
 extern void write_or_die(int fd, const void *buf, size_t count);
 extern int write_or_whine(int fd, const void *buf, size_t count, const char *msg);
 
index bfe4eeb..8cf6486 100644 (file)
@@ -1,5 +1,21 @@
 #include "cache.h"
 
 #include "cache.h"
 
+void read_or_die(int fd, void *buf, size_t count)
+{
+       char *p = buf;
+       ssize_t loaded;
+
+       while (count > 0) {
+               loaded = xread(fd, p, count);
+               if (loaded == 0)
+                       die("unexpected end of file");
+               else if (loaded < 0)
+                       die("read error (%s)", strerror(errno));
+               count -= loaded;
+               p += loaded;
+       }
+}
+
 void write_or_die(int fd, const void *buf, size_t count)
 {
        const char *p = buf;
 void write_or_die(int fd, const void *buf, size_t count)
 {
        const char *p = buf;