git-gui: Simplify MSGFMT setting in Makefile
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 12 Mar 2008 05:29:52 +0000 (22:29 -0700)
committerShawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
Wed, 12 Mar 2008 05:48:32 +0000 (01:48 -0400)
To prepare msg files for Tcl scripts, the command that is set to MSGFMT
make variable needs to be able to grok "--tcl -l <lang> -d <here>" options
correctly.  This patch simplifies the tests done in git-gui's Makefile to
directly test this condition.  If the test run does not exit properly with
zero status (either because you do not have "msgfmt" itself, or your
"msgfmt" is too old to grok --tcl option --- the reason does not matter),
have it fall back to po/po2msg.sh

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Signed-off-by: Shawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
Makefile

index 4e32174..b19fb2d 100644 (file)
--- a/Makefile
+++ b/Makefile
@@ -221,14 +221,9 @@ ifdef NO_MSGFMT
        MSGFMT ?= $(TCL_PATH) po/po2msg.sh
 else
        MSGFMT ?= msgfmt
        MSGFMT ?= $(TCL_PATH) po/po2msg.sh
 else
        MSGFMT ?= msgfmt
-       ifeq ($(shell $(MSGFMT) >/dev/null 2>&1 || echo $$?),127)
+       ifneq ($(shell $(MSGFMT) --tcl -l C -d . /dev/null 2>/dev/null; echo $$?),0)
                MSGFMT := $(TCL_PATH) po/po2msg.sh
        endif
                MSGFMT := $(TCL_PATH) po/po2msg.sh
        endif
-       ifeq (msgfmt,$(MSGFMT))
-       ifeq ($(shell $(MSGFMT) --tcl -l C -d . /dev/null 2>/dev/null || echo $?),1)
-               MSGFMT := $(TCL_PATH) po/po2msg.sh
-       endif
-       endif
 endif
 
 msgsdir     = $(gg_libdir)/msgs
 endif
 
 msgsdir     = $(gg_libdir)/msgs