filter-branch: make report-progress more readable
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 21 Sep 2015 22:16:20 +0000 (15:16 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 21 Sep 2015 22:19:06 +0000 (15:19 -0700)
The name of some variables that are used very locally in this
function were overly long; they were making the lines harder to read
and the longer names didn't add much more information.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-filter-branch.sh

index b7bad16..5777947 100755 (executable)
@@ -280,18 +280,20 @@ report_progress ()
        if test -n "$progress" &&
                test $git_filter_branch__commit_count -gt $next_sample_at
        then
-               now_timestamp=$(date +%s)
-               elapsed_seconds=$(($now_timestamp - $start_timestamp))
-               remaining_second=$(( ($commits - $git_filter_branch__commit_count) * $elapsed_seconds / $git_filter_branch__commit_count ))
-               if test $elapsed_seconds -gt 0
+               count=$git_filter_branch__commit_count
+
+               now=$(date +%s)
+               elapsed=$(($now - $start_timestamp))
+               remaining=$(( ($commits - $count) * $elapsed / $count ))
+               if test $elapsed -gt 0
                then
-                       next_sample_at=$(( ($elapsed_seconds + 1) * $git_filter_branch__commit_count / $elapsed_seconds ))
+                       next_sample_at=$(( ($elapsed + 1) * $count / $elapsed ))
                else
                        next_sample_at=$(($next_sample_at + 1))
                fi
-               progress=" ($elapsed_seconds seconds passed, remaining $remaining_second predicted)"
+               progress=" ($elapsed seconds passed, remaining $remaining predicted)"
        fi
-       printf "\rRewrite $commit ($git_filter_branch__commit_count/$commits)$progress    "
+       printf "\rRewrite $commit ($count/$commits)$progress    "
 }
 
 git_filter_branch__commit_count=0