git --version tells which version of git you have.
authorJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Thu, 8 Sep 2005 04:26:52 +0000 (21:26 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Thu, 8 Sep 2005 05:08:30 +0000 (22:08 -0700)
Originally from Martin Atukunda <matlads@dsmagic.com> but adjusted for
post-rename code.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Makefile
git.sh.in [moved from git.sh with 84% similarity]

index 4f55f63..d3d0855 100644 (file)
--- a/Makefile
+++ b/Makefile
@@ -183,11 +183,17 @@ SCRIPTS = $(SCRIPT_SH) $(SCRIPT_PERL) gitk
 
 ### Build rules
 
-all: $(PROGRAMS)
+all: $(PROGRAMS) git.sh
 
 all:
        $(MAKE) -C templates
 
+git.sh: git.sh.in Makefile
+       rm -f $@+ $@
+       sed -e 's/@@GIT_VERSION@@/$(GIT_VERSION)/g' <$@.in >$@+
+       chmod +x $@+
+       mv $@+ $@
+
 %.o: %.c
        $(CC) -o $*.o -c $(ALL_CFLAGS) $<
 %.o: %.S
@@ -293,7 +299,7 @@ deb: dist
 
 clean:
        rm -f *.o mozilla-sha1/*.o ppc/*.o $(PROGRAMS) $(LIB_FILE)
-       rm -f git-core.spec
+       rm -f git-core.spec git.sh
        rm -rf $(GIT_TARNAME)
        rm -f $(GIT_TARNAME).tar.gz git-core_$(GIT_VERSION)-*.tar.gz
        rm -f git-core_$(GIT_VERSION)-*.deb git-core_$(GIT_VERSION)-*.dsc
similarity index 84%
rename from git.sh
rename to git.sh.in
index f967650..178d0f0 100755 (executable)
--- a/git.sh
+++ b/git.sh.in
@@ -6,6 +6,11 @@ case "$#" in
 0)     ;;
 *)     cmd="$1"
        shift
+       case "$cmd" in
+       -v|--v|--ve|--ver|--vers|--versi|--versio|--version)
+               echo "git version @@GIT_VERSION@@"
+               exit 0 ;;
+       esac
        test -x $path/git-$cmd && exec $path/git-$cmd "$@" ;;
 esac