config.txt: Make configuration paragraph more consistent
authorStephen Boyd <bebarino@gmail.com>
Thu, 23 Apr 2009 09:38:02 +0000 (02:38 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 23 Apr 2009 19:53:32 +0000 (12:53 -0700)
By renaming 'information' to 'configuration' we capture more clearly
what a configuration file holds.

Signed-off-by: Stephen Boyd <bebarino@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/config.txt

index 01b752c..3188569 100644 (file)
@@ -3,10 +3,10 @@ CONFIGURATION FILE
 
 The git configuration file contains a number of variables that affect
 the git command's behavior. The `.git/config` file in each repository
 
 The git configuration file contains a number of variables that affect
 the git command's behavior. The `.git/config` file in each repository
-is used to store the information for that repository, and
-`$HOME/.gitconfig` is used to store per user information as
+is used to store the configuration for that repository, and
+`$HOME/.gitconfig` is used to store a per-user configuration as
 fallback values for the `.git/config` file. The file `/etc/gitconfig`
 fallback values for the `.git/config` file. The file `/etc/gitconfig`
-can be used to store system-wide defaults.
+can be used to store a system-wide default configuration.
 
 The configuration variables are used by both the git plumbing
 and the porcelains. The variables are divided into sections, wherein
 
 The configuration variables are used by both the git plumbing
 and the porcelains. The variables are divided into sections, wherein