Documentation: add instructions to help setup gmail 2FA
authorMichael Rappazzo <rappazzo@gmail.com>
Fri, 27 May 2016 20:39:57 +0000 (16:39 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 27 May 2016 21:49:02 +0000 (14:49 -0700)
For those who use two-factor authentication with gmail, git-send-email
will not work unless it is setup with an app-specific password. The
example for setting up git-send-email for use with gmail will now
include information on generating and storing the app-specific password.

Signed-off-by: Michael Rappazzo <rappazzo@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-send-email.txt

index 771a7b5..edbba3a 100644 (file)
@@ -450,6 +450,19 @@ edit ~/.gitconfig to specify your account settings:
                smtpUser = yourname@gmail.com
                smtpServerPort = 587
 
+If you have multifactor authentication setup on your gmail acocunt, you will
+need to generate an app-specific password for use with 'git send-email'. Visit
+https://security.google.com/settings/security/apppasswords to setup an
+app-specific password.  Once setup, you can store it with the credentials
+helper:
+
+       $ git credential fill
+       protocol=smtp
+       host=smtp.gmail.com
+       username=youname@gmail.com
+       password=app-password
+
+
 Once your commits are ready to be sent to the mailing list, run the
 following commands: