grep: grep: refactor handling of binary mode options
authorRené Scharfe <rene.scharfe@lsrfire.ath.cx>
Sat, 22 May 2010 21:28:17 +0000 (23:28 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 24 May 2010 18:22:06 +0000 (11:22 -0700)
Turn the switch inside-out and add labels for each possible value
of ->binary.  This makes the code easier to read and avoids calling
buffer_is_binary() if the option -a was given.

Signed-off-by: Rene Scharfe <rene.scharfe@lsrfire.ath.cx>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
grep.c

diff --git a/grep.c b/grep.c
index 543b1d5..2a8e879 100644 (file)
--- a/grep.c
+++ b/grep.c
@@ -800,17 +800,19 @@ static int grep_buffer_1(struct grep_opt *opt, const char *name,
                opt->show_hunk_mark = 1;
        opt->last_shown = 0;
 
-       if (buffer_is_binary(buf, size)) {
-               switch (opt->binary) {
-               case GREP_BINARY_DEFAULT:
+       switch (opt->binary) {
+       case GREP_BINARY_DEFAULT:
+               if (buffer_is_binary(buf, size))
                        binary_match_only = 1;
-                       break;
-               case GREP_BINARY_NOMATCH:
+               break;
+       case GREP_BINARY_NOMATCH:
+               if (buffer_is_binary(buf, size))
                        return 0; /* Assume unmatch */
-                       break;
-               default:
-                       break;
-               }
+               break;
+       case GREP_BINARY_TEXT:
+               break;
+       default:
+               die("bug: unknown binary handling mode");
        }
 
        memset(&xecfg, 0, sizeof(xecfg));