t4030, t4031: work around bogus MSYS bash path conversion
authorJohannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org>
Fri, 1 Jan 2010 22:15:18 +0000 (23:15 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 6 Jan 2010 07:41:51 +0000 (23:41 -0800)
Recall that MSYS bash converts POSIX style absolute paths to Windows style
absolute paths. Unfortunately, it converts a program argument that begins
with a double-quote and otherwise looks like an absolute POSIX path, but
in doing so, it strips everything past the second double-quote[*]. This
case is triggered in the two test scripts. The work-around is to place the
Windows style path returned by $(pwd) between the quotes to avoid the path
conversion.

[*] It is already bogus that a conversion is even considered when a program
argument begins with a double-quote because it cannot be an absolute POSIX
path.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t4030-diff-textconv.sh
t/t4031-diff-rewrite-binary.sh

index c16d538..88c5619 100755 (executable)
@@ -48,7 +48,7 @@ test_expect_success 'file is considered binary by plumbing' '
 
 test_expect_success 'setup textconv filters' '
        echo file diff=foo >.gitattributes &&
-       git config diff.foo.textconv "\"$PWD\""/hexdump &&
+       git config diff.foo.textconv "\"$(pwd)\""/hexdump &&
        git config diff.fail.textconv false
 '
 
index 27fb31b..7e7b307 100755 (executable)
@@ -54,7 +54,7 @@ chmod +x dump
 
 test_expect_success 'setup textconv' '
        echo file diff=foo >.gitattributes &&
-       git config diff.foo.textconv "\"$PWD\""/dump
+       git config diff.foo.textconv "\"$(pwd)\""/dump
 '
 
 test_expect_success 'rewrite diff respects textconv' '