add COPY_ARRAY
authorRené Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Sun, 25 Sep 2016 07:15:42 +0000 (09:15 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 25 Sep 2016 23:44:12 +0000 (16:44 -0700)
Add COPY_ARRAY, a safe and convenient helper for copying arrays,
complementing ALLOC_ARRAY and REALLOC_ARRAY.  Users just specify source,
destination and the number of elements; the size of an element is
inferred automatically.

It checks if the multiplication of size and element count overflows.
The inferred size is passed first to st_mult, which allows the division
there to be done at compilation time.

As a basic type safety check it makes sure the sizes of source and
destination elements are the same.  That's evaluated at compilation time
as well.

COPY_ARRAY is safe to use with NULL as source pointer iff 0 elements are
to be copied.  That convention is used in some cases for initializing
arrays.  Raw memcpy(3) does not support it -- compilers are allowed to
assume that only valid pointers are passed to it and can optimize away
NULL checks after such a call.

Signed-off-by: Rene Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-compat-util.h

index c99cddc..4662d0d 100644 (file)
@@ -785,6 +785,14 @@ extern FILE *fopen_for_writing(const char *path);
 #define ALLOC_ARRAY(x, alloc) (x) = xmalloc(st_mult(sizeof(*(x)), (alloc)))
 #define REALLOC_ARRAY(x, alloc) (x) = xrealloc((x), st_mult(sizeof(*(x)), (alloc)))
 
+#define COPY_ARRAY(dst, src, n) copy_array((dst), (src), (n), sizeof(*(dst)) + \
+       BUILD_ASSERT_OR_ZERO(sizeof(*(dst)) == sizeof(*(src))))
+static inline void copy_array(void *dst, const void *src, size_t n, size_t size)
+{
+       if (n)
+               memcpy(dst, src, st_mult(size, n));
+}
+
 /*
  * These functions help you allocate structs with flex arrays, and copy
  * the data directly into the array. For example, if you had: