Update the gitweb/README file to include setting the GITWEB_CONFIG environment
authorAlan Chandler <alan@chandlerfamily.org.uk>
Tue, 3 Oct 2006 21:48:46 +0000 (22:48 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Wed, 4 Oct 2006 06:58:38 +0000 (23:58 -0700)
Signed-off-by: Alan Chandler <alan@chandlerfamily.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
gitweb/README

index 61c7ab5..78e6fc0 100644 (file)
@@ -43,6 +43,7 @@ repositories, you can configure apache like this:
     DocumentRoot /pub/git
     RewriteEngine on
     RewriteRule ^/(.*\.git/(?!/?(info|objects|refs)).*)?$ /cgi-bin/gitweb.cgi%{REQUEST_URI}  [L,PT]
     DocumentRoot /pub/git
     RewriteEngine on
     RewriteRule ^/(.*\.git/(?!/?(info|objects|refs)).*)?$ /cgi-bin/gitweb.cgi%{REQUEST_URI}  [L,PT]
+    SetEnv     GITWEB_CONFIG   /etc/gitweb.conf
 </VirtualHost>
 
 The above configuration expects your public repositories to live under
 </VirtualHost>
 
 The above configuration expects your public repositories to live under
@@ -51,6 +52,12 @@ both as cloneable GIT URL and as browseable gitweb interface.
 If you then start your git-daemon with --base-path=/pub/git --export-all
 then you can even use the git:// URL with exactly the same path.
 
 If you then start your git-daemon with --base-path=/pub/git --export-all
 then you can even use the git:// URL with exactly the same path.
 
+Setting the environment variable GITWEB_CONFIG will tell gitweb to use
+the named file (i.e. in this example /etc/gitweb.conf) as a
+configuration for gitweb.  Perl variables defined in here will
+override the defaults given at the head of the gitweb.perl (or
+gitweb.cgi).  Look at the comments in that file for information on
+which variables and what they mean.
 
 
 Originally written by:
 
 
 Originally written by: