run_hook: use argv_array API
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tue, 13 Sep 2011 21:58:25 +0000 (17:58 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 14 Sep 2011 18:57:33 +0000 (11:57 -0700)
This was a pretty straightforward use, so it really doesn't
save that many lines. Still, perhaps it's a little bit more
readable.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
run-command.c

index 70e8a24..73e013e 100644 (file)
@@ -1,6 +1,7 @@
 #include "cache.h"
 #include "run-command.h"
 #include "exec_cmd.h"
+#include "argv-array.h"
 
 static inline void close_pair(int fd[2])
 {
@@ -609,26 +610,23 @@ int finish_async(struct async *async)
 int run_hook(const char *index_file, const char *name, ...)
 {
        struct child_process hook;
-       const char **argv = NULL, *env[2];
+       struct argv_array argv = ARGV_ARRAY_INIT;
+       const char *p, *env[2];
        char index[PATH_MAX];
        va_list args;
        int ret;
-       size_t i = 0, alloc = 0;
 
        if (access(git_path("hooks/%s", name), X_OK) < 0)
                return 0;
 
        va_start(args, name);
-       ALLOC_GROW(argv, i + 1, alloc);
-       argv[i++] = git_path("hooks/%s", name);
-       while (argv[i-1]) {
-               ALLOC_GROW(argv, i + 1, alloc);
-               argv[i++] = va_arg(args, const char *);
-       }
+       argv_array_push(&argv, git_path("hooks/%s", name));
+       while ((p = va_arg(args, const char *)))
+               argv_array_push(&argv, p);
        va_end(args);
 
        memset(&hook, 0, sizeof(hook));
-       hook.argv = argv;
+       hook.argv = argv.argv;
        hook.no_stdin = 1;
        hook.stdout_to_stderr = 1;
        if (index_file) {
@@ -639,6 +637,6 @@ int run_hook(const char *index_file, const char *name, ...)
        }
 
        ret = run_command(&hook);
-       free(argv);
+       argv_array_clear(&argv);
        return ret;
 }