tag: clarify in the doc that a tag can refer to a non-commit object
authorRobert P. J. Day <rpjday@crashcourse.ca>
Fri, 25 May 2018 09:45:09 +0000 (05:45 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 29 May 2018 02:55:34 +0000 (11:55 +0900)
Reword "man git-tag" to clarify that a tag can refer directly to an
arbitrary object, not just a commit object.

Signed-off-by: Robert P. J. Day <rpjday@crashcourse.ca>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-tag.txt

index 1d17101..87c4288 100644 (file)
@@ -34,8 +34,8 @@ in the tag message.
 If `-m <msg>` or `-F <file>` is given and `-a`, `-s`, and `-u <keyid>`
 are absent, `-a` is implied.
 
 If `-m <msg>` or `-F <file>` is given and `-a`, `-s`, and `-u <keyid>`
 are absent, `-a` is implied.
 
-Otherwise just a tag reference for the SHA-1 object name of the commit object is
-created (i.e. a lightweight tag).
+Otherwise, a tag reference that points directly at the given object
+(i.e., a lightweight tag) is created.
 
 A GnuPG signed tag object will be created when `-s` or `-u
 <keyid>` is used.  When `-u <keyid>` is not used, the
 
 A GnuPG signed tag object will be created when `-s` or `-u
 <keyid>` is used.  When `-u <keyid>` is not used, the