Fix sed string regex escaping in module_name.
authorRalf Wildenhues <Ralf.Wildenhues@gmx.de>
Thu, 8 Nov 2007 21:48:49 +0000 (22:48 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 8 Nov 2007 23:56:22 +0000 (15:56 -0800)
When escaping a string to be used as a sed regex, it is important
to only escape active characters.  Escaping other characters is
undefined according to POSIX, and in practice leads to issues with
extensions such as GNU sed's \+.

Signed-off-by: Ralf Wildenhues <Ralf.Wildenhues@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-submodule.sh

index 673aa27..b91d626 100755 (executable)
@@ -47,7 +47,7 @@ get_repo_base() {
 module_name()
 {
        # Do we have "submodule.<something>.path = $1" defined in .gitmodules file?
-       re=$(printf '%s' "$1" | sed -e 's/\([^a-zA-Z0-9_]\)/\\\1/g')
+       re=$(printf '%s' "$1" | sed -e 's/[].[^$\\*]/\\&/g')
        name=$( GIT_CONFIG=.gitmodules \
                git config --get-regexp '^submodule\..*\.path$' |
                sed -n -e 's|^submodule\.\(.*\)\.path '"$re"'$|\1|p' )