tests: create an interactive gdb session with the 'debug' helper
authorSZEDER Gábor <szeder.dev@gmail.com>
Sat, 18 Mar 2017 16:13:59 +0000 (17:13 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 18 Mar 2017 17:18:20 +0000 (10:18 -0700)
The 'debug' test helper is supposed to facilitate debugging by running
a command of the test suite under gdb.  Unfortunately, its usefulness
is severely limited, because that gdb session is not interactive,
since the test's, and thus gdb's standard input is redirected from
/dev/null (for a good reason, see 781f76b15 (test-lib: redirect stdin
of tests, 2011-12-15)).

Redirect gdb's standard file descriptors from/to the test
environment's stdin, stdout and stderr in the 'debug' helper, thus
creating an interactive gdb session (even in non-verbose mode), which
is much, much more useful.

Signed-off-by: SZEDER Gábor <szeder.dev@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/test-lib-functions.sh
t/test-lib.sh

index bd35770..4a50a61 100644 (file)
@@ -154,7 +154,7 @@ test_pause () {
 #
 # Example: "debug git checkout master".
 debug () {
-        GIT_TEST_GDB=1 "$@"
+        GIT_TEST_GDB=1 "$@" <&6 >&5 2>&7
 }
 
 # Call test_commit with the arguments
index 86d77c1..23c29bc 100644 (file)
@@ -342,6 +342,7 @@ fi
 
 exec 5>&1
 exec 6<&0
+exec 7>&2
 if test "$verbose_log" = "t"
 then
        exec 3>>"$GIT_TEST_TEE_OUTPUT_FILE" 4>&3