filter-branch: deal with object name vs. pathname ambiguity in tree-filter
authorSZEDER Gábor <szeder@ira.uka.de>
Mon, 23 Nov 2015 12:23:16 +0000 (13:23 +0100)
committerJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tue, 24 Nov 2015 23:37:50 +0000 (18:37 -0500)
'git filter-branch' fails complaining about an ambiguous argument, if
a tree-filter renames a path and the new pathname happens to match an
existing object name.

After the tree-filter has been applied, 'git filter-branch' looks for
changed paths by running:

  git diff-index -r --name-only --ignore-submodules $commit

which then, because of the lack of disambiguating double-dash, can't
decide whether to treat '$commit' as revision or path and errors out.

Add that disambiguating double-dash after 'git diff-index's revision
argument to make sure that '$commit' is interpreted as a revision.

Signed-off-by: SZEDER Gábor <szeder@ira.uka.de>
Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
git-filter-branch.sh
t/t7003-filter-branch.sh

index fff8093..ad24c8d 100755 (executable)
@@ -319,7 +319,7 @@ while read commit parents; do
                        die "tree filter failed: $filter_tree"
 
                (
-                       git diff-index -r --name-only --ignore-submodules $commit &&
+                       git diff-index -r --name-only --ignore-submodules $commit -- &&
                        git ls-files --others
                ) > "$tempdir"/tree-state || exit
                git update-index --add --replace --remove --stdin \
index 377c648..869e0bf 100755 (executable)
@@ -418,4 +418,11 @@ test_expect_success 'filter commit message without trailing newline' '
        test_cmp expect actual
 '
 
+test_expect_success 'tree-filter deals with object name vs pathname ambiguity' '
+       test_when_finished "git reset --hard original" &&
+       ambiguous=$(git rev-list -1 HEAD) &&
+       git filter-branch --tree-filter "mv file.t $ambiguous" HEAD^.. &&
+       git show HEAD:$ambiguous
+'
+
 test_done