t4062: use less than 256 repetitions in regex
authorRené Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Wed, 9 Aug 2017 14:15:10 +0000 (16:15 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 9 Aug 2017 16:46:18 +0000 (09:46 -0700)
OpenBSD's regex library has a repetition limit (RE_DUP_MAX) of 255.
That's the minimum acceptable value according to POSIX.  In t4062 we use
4096 repetitions in the test "-G matches", though, causing it to fail.
Combine two repetition operators, both less than 256, to arrive at 4096
zeros instead of using a single one, to fix the test on OpenBSD.

Original-patch-by: David Coppa <dcoppa@openbsd.org>
Signed-off-by: Rene Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t4062-diff-pickaxe.sh

index f0bf50b..9f3ce4b 100755 (executable)
@@ -14,8 +14,10 @@ test_expect_success setup '
        test_tick &&
        git commit -m "A 4k file"
 '
+
+# OpenBSD only supports up to 255 repetitions, so repeat twice for 64*64=4096.
 test_expect_success '-G matches' '
-       git diff --name-only -G "^0{4096}$" HEAD^ >out &&
+       git diff --name-only -G "^(0{64}){64}$" HEAD^ >out &&
        test 4096-zeroes.txt = "$(cat out)"
 '