git-fetch: allow updating the current branch in a bare repository.
authorJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Sun, 7 Jan 2007 10:17:52 +0000 (02:17 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Mon, 8 Jan 2007 05:36:35 +0000 (21:36 -0800)
Sometimes, people have only fetch access into a bare repository
that is used as a back-up location (or a distribution point) but
does not have a push access for networking reasons, e.g. one end
being behind a firewall, and updating the "current branch" in
such a case is perfectly fine.

This allows such a fetch without --update-head-ok, which is a
flag that should never be used by end users otherwise.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
git-fetch.sh
git-sh-setup.sh

index 466fe59..c58704d 100755 (executable)
@@ -231,11 +231,12 @@ update_local_ref () {
     esac
 }
 
-case "$update_head_ok" in
-'')
+# updating the current HEAD with git-fetch in a bare
+# repository is always fine.
+if test -z "$update_head_ok" && test $(is_bare_repository) = false
+then
        orig_head=$(git-rev-parse --verify HEAD 2>/dev/null)
-       ;;
-esac
+fi
 
 # If --tags (and later --heads or --all) is specified, then we are
 # not talking about defaults stored in Pull: line of remotes or
index 87b939c..7fdc912 100755 (executable)
@@ -28,6 +28,14 @@ set_reflog_action() {
        fi
 }
 
+is_bare_repository () {
+       git-repo-config --bool --get core.bare ||
+       case "$GIT_DIR" in
+       .git | */.git) echo false ;;
+       *) echo true ;;
+       esac
+}
+
 if [ -z "$LONG_USAGE" ]
 then
        LONG_USAGE="Usage: $0 $USAGE"