Alter git-checkout reflog message to include "from" branch
authorSean <seanlkml@sympatico.ca>
Wed, 4 Jul 2007 08:33:36 +0000 (04:33 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 4 Jul 2007 19:56:02 +0000 (12:56 -0700)
As suggested by Junio, adding the current branch name to the
reflog message for git-checkout would be helpful.  For example:

   "checkout: moving from next to master"

Signed-off-by: Sean Estabrooks <seanlkml@sympatico.ca>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-checkout.sh

index e00b697..17f4392 100755 (executable)
@@ -259,7 +259,8 @@ if [ "$?" -eq 0 ]; then
        fi
        if test -n "$branch"
        then
-               GIT_DIR="$GIT_DIR" git symbolic-ref -m "checkout: moving to $branch" HEAD "refs/heads/$branch"
+               old_branch_name=`expr "z$oldbranch" : 'zrefs/heads/\(.*\)'`
+               GIT_DIR="$GIT_DIR" git symbolic-ref -m "checkout: moving from $old_branch_name to $branch" HEAD "refs/heads/$branch"
                if test -n "$quiet"
                then
                        true    # nothing