checkout: add basic tests for detached-orphan warning
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Sun, 20 Mar 2011 09:04:16 +0000 (05:04 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 20 Mar 2011 20:32:44 +0000 (13:32 -0700)
Commit 8e2dc6ac added a warning when we leave a detached
HEAD whose commit is not reachable from any ref tip. Let's
add a few basic tests to make sure it works.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t2020-checkout-detach.sh

index 0042145..bfeb2a6 100755 (executable)
@@ -11,6 +11,14 @@ check_not_detached () {
        git symbolic-ref -q HEAD >/dev/null
 }
 
+ORPHAN_WARNING='you are leaving .* commit.*behind'
+check_orphan_warning() {
+       grep "$ORPHAN_WARNING" "$1"
+}
+check_no_orphan_warning() {
+       ! grep "$ORPHAN_WARNING" "$1"
+}
+
 reset () {
        git checkout master &&
        check_not_detached
@@ -19,6 +27,8 @@ reset () {
 test_expect_success 'setup' '
        test_commit one &&
        test_commit two &&
+       test_commit three && git tag -d three &&
+       test_commit four && git tag -d four &&
        git branch branch &&
        git tag tag
 '
@@ -92,4 +102,28 @@ test_expect_success 'checkout --detach moves HEAD' '
        git diff --exit-code two
 '
 
+test_expect_success 'checkout warns on orphan commits' '
+       reset &&
+       git checkout --detach two &&
+       echo content >orphan &&
+       git add orphan &&
+       git commit -a -m orphan &&
+       git checkout master 2>stderr &&
+       check_orphan_warning stderr
+'
+
+test_expect_success 'checkout does not warn leaving ref tip' '
+       reset &&
+       git checkout --detach two &&
+       git checkout master 2>stderr &&
+       check_no_orphan_warning stderr
+'
+
+test_expect_success 'checkout does not warn leaving reachable commit' '
+       reset &&
+       git checkout --detach HEAD^ &&
+       git checkout master 2>stderr &&
+       check_no_orphan_warning stderr
+'
+
 test_done