diff-files: document --ours etc.
authorAndreas Heiduk <asheiduk@gmail.com>
Tue, 11 Apr 2017 14:39:50 +0000 (16:39 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 13 Apr 2017 23:15:25 +0000 (16:15 -0700)
git-diff understands "--ours", "--theirs" and "--base" for files with
conflicts. But so far they were not documented for the central diff
command but only for diff-files.

Signed-off-by: Andreas Heiduk <asheiduk@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-diff.txt

index bbab35f..b0c1bb9 100644 (file)
@@ -97,6 +97,20 @@ OPTIONS
 :git-diff: 1
 include::diff-options.txt[]
 
+-1 --base::
+-2 --ours::
+-3 --theirs::
+       Compare the working tree with the "base" version (stage #1),
+       "our branch" (stage #2) or "their branch" (stage #3).  The
+       index contains these stages only for unmerged entries i.e.
+       while resolving conflicts.  See linkgit:git-read-tree[1]
+       section "3-Way Merge" for detailed information.
+
+-0::
+       Omit diff output for unmerged entries and just show
+       "Unmerged".  Can be used only when comparing the working tree
+       with the index.
+
 <path>...::
        The <paths> parameters, when given, are used to limit
        the diff to the named paths (you can give directory