Note that git-branch will not automatically checkout the new branch
authorFederico Mena Quintero <federico@novell.com>
Tue, 2 Oct 2007 23:34:32 +0000 (18:34 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 3 Oct 2007 00:27:00 +0000 (17:27 -0700)
Signed-off-by: Federico Mena Quintero <federico@gnu.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-branch.txt

index c839961..b7285bc 100644 (file)
@@ -26,6 +26,10 @@ It will start out with a head equal to the one given as <start-point>.
 If no <start-point> is given, the branch will be created with a head
 equal to that of the currently checked out branch.
 
+Note that this will create the new branch, but it will not switch the
+working tree to it; use "git checkout <newbranch>" to switch to the
+new branch.
+
 When a local branch is started off a remote branch, git can setup the
 branch so that gitlink:git-pull[1] will appropriately merge from that
 remote branch.  If this behavior is desired, it is possible to make it