autodetect number of CPUs by default when using threads
authorNicolas Pitre <nico@cam.org>
Thu, 11 Dec 2008 20:36:47 +0000 (15:36 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 13 Dec 2008 03:47:36 +0000 (19:47 -0800)
... and display the actual number of threads used when locally
repacking.  A remote server still won't tell you how many threads it
uses during a fetch though.

Signed-off-by: Nicolas Pitre <nico@cam.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin-pack-objects.c

index cedef52..619e597 100644 (file)
@@ -78,7 +78,7 @@ static int progress = 1;
 static int window = 10;
 static uint32_t pack_size_limit, pack_size_limit_cfg;
 static int depth = 50;
-static int delta_search_threads = 1;
+static int delta_search_threads;
 static int pack_to_stdout;
 static int num_preferred_base;
 static struct progress *progress_state;
@@ -1612,6 +1612,9 @@ static void ll_find_deltas(struct object_entry **list, unsigned list_size,
                find_deltas(list, &list_size, window, depth, processed);
                return;
        }
+       if (progress > pack_to_stdout)
+               fprintf(stderr, "Delta compression using %d threads.\n",
+                               delta_search_threads);
 
        /* Partition the work amongst work threads. */
        for (i = 0; i < delta_search_threads; i++) {