fmt-merge-msg: be quiet if nothing to merge
authorStephen Boyd <bebarino@gmail.com>
Wed, 24 Mar 2010 07:15:58 +0000 (00:15 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 25 Mar 2010 02:39:40 +0000 (19:39 -0700)
When FETCH_HEAD contains only 'not-for-merge' entries fmt-merge-msg
still outputs "Merge" (and if the branch isn't master " into <branch>").
In this case fmt-merge-msg is outputting junk and should really just
be quiet. Fix it.

Signed-off-by: Stephen Boyd <bebarino@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/fmt-merge-msg.c
t/t6200-fmt-merge-msg.sh

index 9d52400..9bb2625 100644 (file)
@@ -281,6 +281,9 @@ int fmt_merge_msg(int merge_summary, struct strbuf *in, struct strbuf *out) {
                        die ("Error in line %d: %.*s", i, len, p);
        }
 
+       if (!srcs.nr)
+               return 0;
+
        strbuf_addstr(out, "Merge ");
        for (i = 0; i < srcs.nr; i++) {
                struct src_data *src_data = srcs.payload[i];
index 42f6fff..ade209a 100755 (executable)
@@ -21,6 +21,8 @@ test_expect_success setup '
        setdate &&
        git commit -m "Initial" &&
 
+       git clone . remote &&
+
        echo uno >one &&
        echo dos >two &&
        git add two &&
@@ -240,4 +242,21 @@ test_expect_success 'merge-msg -F in subdirectory' '
        test_cmp expected actual
 '
 
+test_expect_success 'merge-msg with nothing to merge' '
+
+       git config --unset-all merge.log
+       git config --unset-all merge.summary
+       git config merge.summary yes &&
+
+       (
+               cd remote &&
+               git checkout -b unrelated &&
+               setdate &&
+               git fetch origin &&
+               git fmt-merge-msg <.git/FETCH_HEAD >../actual
+       ) &&
+
+       test_cmp /dev/null actual
+'
+
 test_done