Documentation: robustify asciidoc GIT_VERSION replacement
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Fri, 1 Jun 2007 09:10:30 +0000 (05:10 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Sat, 2 Jun 2007 18:28:13 +0000 (11:28 -0700)
Instead of using sed on the resulting file, we now have a
git_version asciidoc attribute. This means that we don't
pipe the output of asciidoc, which means we can detect build
failures.

Problem reported by Scott Lamb, solution suggested by Jonas Fonseca.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Documentation/Makefile
Documentation/asciidoc.conf

index 3f92783..4064b38 100644 (file)
@@ -112,8 +112,7 @@ clean:
 %.html : %.txt
        rm -f $@+ $@
        $(ASCIIDOC) -b xhtml11 -d manpage -f asciidoc.conf \
-               $(ASCIIDOC_EXTRA) -o - $< | \
-               sed -e 's/@@GIT_VERSION@@/$(GIT_VERSION)/g' >$@+
+               $(ASCIIDOC_EXTRA) -agit_version=$(GIT_VERSION) -o $@+ $<
        mv $@+ $@
 
 %.1 %.5 %.7 : %.xml
@@ -122,8 +121,7 @@ clean:
 %.xml : %.txt
        rm -f $@+ $@
        $(ASCIIDOC) -b docbook -d manpage -f asciidoc.conf \
-               $(ASCIIDOC_EXTRA) -o - $< | \
-               sed -e 's/@@GIT_VERSION@@/$(GIT_VERSION)/g' >$@+
+               $(ASCIIDOC_EXTRA) -agit_version=$(GIT_VERSION) -o $@+ $<
        mv $@+ $@
 
 user-manual.xml: user-manual.txt user-manual.conf
index fa7dc94..60e15ba 100644 (file)
@@ -40,7 +40,7 @@ template::[header-declarations]
 <refentrytitle>{mantitle}</refentrytitle>
 <manvolnum>{manvolnum}</manvolnum>
 <refmiscinfo class="source">Git</refmiscinfo>
-<refmiscinfo class="version">@@GIT_VERSION@@</refmiscinfo>
+<refmiscinfo class="version">{git_version}</refmiscinfo>
 <refmiscinfo class="manual">Git Manual</refmiscinfo>
 </refmeta>
 <refnamediv>