symbolic-ref: propagate error code from create_symref()
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Sun, 20 Dec 2015 07:27:18 +0000 (02:27 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 21 Dec 2015 20:03:03 +0000 (12:03 -0800)
If create_symref() fails, git-symbolic-ref will still exit
with code 0, and our caller has no idea that the command did
nothing.

This appears to have been broken since the beginning of time
(e.g., it is not a regression where create_symref() stopped
calling die() or something similar).

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/symbolic-ref.c
t/t1401-symbolic-ref.sh

index ce0fde7..9c29a64 100644 (file)
@@ -67,7 +67,7 @@ int cmd_symbolic_ref(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix)
                if (!strcmp(argv[0], "HEAD") &&
                    !starts_with(argv[1], "refs/"))
                        die("Refusing to point HEAD outside of refs/");
                if (!strcmp(argv[0], "HEAD") &&
                    !starts_with(argv[1], "refs/"))
                        die("Refusing to point HEAD outside of refs/");
-               create_symref(argv[0], argv[1], msg);
+               ret = !!create_symref(argv[0], argv[1], msg);
                break;
        default:
                usage_with_options(git_symbolic_ref_usage, options);
                break;
        default:
                usage_with_options(git_symbolic_ref_usage, options);
index 36378b0..e9219a9 100755 (executable)
@@ -63,4 +63,10 @@ test_expect_success 'symbolic-ref fails to delete real ref' '
 '
 reset_to_sane
 
 '
 reset_to_sane
 
+test_expect_success 'symbolic-ref reports failure in exit code' '
+       test_when_finished "rm -f .git/HEAD.lock" &&
+       >.git/HEAD.lock &&
+       test_must_fail git symbolic-ref HEAD refs/heads/whatever
+'
+
 test_done
 test_done