git-p4: add failing test for name-rev rather than symbolic-ref
authorLuke Diamand <luke@diamand.org>
Sat, 15 Apr 2017 10:36:07 +0000 (11:36 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 17 Apr 2017 04:13:23 +0000 (21:13 -0700)
Using name-rev to find the current git branch means that git-p4
does not correctly get the current branch name if there are
multiple branches pointing at HEAD, or a tag.

This change adds a test case which demonstrates the problem.
Configuring which branches are allowed to be submitted from goes
wrong, as git-p4 gets confused about which branch is in use.

This appears to be the only place that git-p4 actually cares
about the current branch.

Signed-off-by: Luke Diamand <luke@diamand.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t9807-git-p4-submit.sh

index e37239e..ae05816 100755 (executable)
@@ -139,6 +139,22 @@ test_expect_success 'submit with master branch name from argv' '
        )
 '
 
+test_expect_failure 'allow submit from branch with same revision but different name' '
+       test_when_finished cleanup_git &&
+       git p4 clone --dest="$git" //depot &&
+       (
+               cd "$git" &&
+               test_commit "file8" &&
+               git checkout -b branch1 &&
+               git checkout -b branch2 &&
+               git config git-p4.skipSubmitEdit true &&
+               git config git-p4.allowSubmit "branch1" &&
+               test_must_fail git p4 submit &&
+               git checkout branch1 &&
+               git p4 submit
+       )
+'
+
 #
 # Basic submit tests, the five handled cases
 #