color.h: remove obsolete comment about limitations on Windows
authorJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Tue, 28 Jun 2016 10:02:49 +0000 (12:02 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 28 Jun 2016 16:18:50 +0000 (09:18 -0700)
Originally, ANSI color sequences were supported on Windows only by
overriding the printf() and fprintf() functions, as mentioned in e7821d7
(Add a notice that only certain functions can print color escape codes,
2009-11-27).

As of eac14f8 (Win32: Thread-safe windows console output, 2012-01-14),
however, this is no longer the case, as the ANSI color sequence support
code needed to be replaced with a thread-safe version, one side effect
being that stdout and stderr handled no matter which function is used to
write to it.

So let's just remove the comment that is now obsolete.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
color.h

diff --git a/color.h b/color.h
index 7fe77fb..085924f 100644 (file)
--- a/color.h
+++ b/color.h
@@ -18,11 +18,6 @@ struct strbuf;
  */
 #define COLOR_MAXLEN 70
 
-/*
- * IMPORTANT: Due to the way these color codes are emulated on Windows,
- * write them only using printf(), fprintf(), and fputs(). In particular,
- * do not use puts() or write().
- */
 #define GIT_COLOR_NORMAL       ""
 #define GIT_COLOR_RESET                "\033[m"
 #define GIT_COLOR_BOLD         "\033[1m"