Documentation/user-manual: update outdated example output
authorMartin Ågren <martin.agren@gmail.com>
Wed, 23 Aug 2017 17:49:34 +0000 (19:49 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 23 Aug 2017 19:02:47 +0000 (12:02 -0700)
Since commit f7673490 ("more terse push output", 2007-11-05), git push
has a completely different output format than the one shown in the user
manual for a non-fast-forward push.

Signed-off-by: Martin Ågren <martin.agren@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/user-manual.txt

index bc29298..d3c53b5 100644 (file)
@@ -2044,10 +2044,12 @@ If a push would not result in a <<fast-forwards,fast-forward>> of the
 remote branch, then it will fail with an error like:
 
 -------------------------------------------------
-error: remote 'refs/heads/master' is not an ancestor of
- local  'refs/heads/master'.
- Maybe you are not up-to-date and need to pull first?
-error: failed to push to 'ssh://yourserver.com/~you/proj.git'
+ ! [rejected]        master -> master (non-fast-forward)
+error: failed to push some refs to '...'
+hint: Updates were rejected because the tip of your current branch is behind
+hint: its remote counterpart. Integrate the remote changes (e.g.
+hint: 'git pull ...') before pushing again.
+hint: See the 'Note about fast-forwards' in 'git push --help' for details.
 -------------------------------------------------
 
 This can happen, for example, if you: