A loose object is not corrupt if it cannot be read due to EMFILE
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 28 Oct 2010 18:13:06 +0000 (11:13 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 3 Nov 2010 16:24:57 +0000 (09:24 -0700)
"git fsck" bails out with a claim that a loose object that cannot be
read but exists on the filesystem to be corrupt, which is wrong when
read_object() failed due to e.g. EMFILE.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
sha1_file.c

index 4251798..25f6965 100644 (file)
@@ -2090,16 +2090,21 @@ void *read_sha1_file_repl(const unsigned char *sha1,
                          const unsigned char **replacement)
 {
        const unsigned char *repl = lookup_replace_object(sha1);
-       void *data = read_object(repl, type, size);
+       void *data;
        char *path;
        const struct packed_git *p;
 
+       errno = 0;
+       data = read_object(repl, type, size);
        if (data) {
                if (replacement)
                        *replacement = repl;
                return data;
        }
 
+       if (errno != ENOENT)
+               die_errno("failed to read object %s", sha1_to_hex(sha1));
+
        /* die if we replaced an object with one that does not exist */
        if (repl != sha1)
                die("replacement %s not found for %s",