Do not call release_pack_memory in malloc wrappers when GIT_TRACE is used
authorJohannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org>
Sat, 8 May 2010 15:18:06 +0000 (17:18 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 9 May 2010 05:28:01 +0000 (22:28 -0700)
This avoids a potential race condition when async procedures are
implemented as threads where release_pack_memory() can be called from
different threads without locking under memory pressure.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
trace.c

diff --git a/trace.c b/trace.c
index 4229ae1..1e560cb 100644 (file)
--- a/trace.c
+++ b/trace.c
 #include "cache.h"
 #include "quote.h"
 
+void do_nothing(size_t unused)
+{
+}
+
 /* Get a trace file descriptor from GIT_TRACE env variable. */
 static int get_trace_fd(int *need_close)
 {
@@ -72,6 +76,7 @@ void trace_printf(const char *fmt, ...)
        if (!fd)
                return;
 
+       set_try_to_free_routine(do_nothing);    /* is never reset */
        strbuf_init(&buf, 64);
        va_start(ap, fmt);
        len = vsnprintf(buf.buf, strbuf_avail(&buf), fmt, ap);
@@ -103,6 +108,7 @@ void trace_argv_printf(const char **argv, const char *fmt, ...)
        if (!fd)
                return;
 
+       set_try_to_free_routine(do_nothing);    /* is never reset */
        strbuf_init(&buf, 64);
        va_start(ap, fmt);
        len = vsnprintf(buf.buf, strbuf_avail(&buf), fmt, ap);