simplify output of conflicting merge
authorClemens Buchacher <drizzd@aon.at>
Sun, 5 Apr 2009 00:47:00 +0000 (02:47 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 5 Apr 2009 07:26:33 +0000 (00:26 -0700)
This simplifies the code without changing the semantics and removes
the unhelpful "needs $sha1" part of the conflicting submodule message.

Signed-off-by: Clemens Buchacher <drizzd@aon.at>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
merge-recursive.c

index 3618c94..9bf5cc7 100644 (file)
@@ -1121,22 +1121,13 @@ static int process_entry(struct merge_options *o,
                                 o->branch1, o->branch2);
 
                clean_merge = mfi.clean;
-               if (mfi.clean)
-                       update_file(o, 1, mfi.sha, mfi.mode, path);
-               else if (S_ISGITLINK(mfi.mode)) {
-                       output(o, 1, "CONFLICT (submodule): Merge conflict in %s "
-                              "- needs %s", path, sha1_to_hex(b.sha1));
-                       update_file(o, 0, mfi.sha, mfi.mode, path);
-               } else {
+               if (!mfi.clean) {
+                       if (S_ISGITLINK(mfi.mode))
+                               reason = "submodule";
                        output(o, 1, "CONFLICT (%s): Merge conflict in %s",
                                        reason, path);
-
-                       if (o->call_depth)
-                               update_file(o, 0, mfi.sha, mfi.mode, path);
-                       else
-                               update_file_flags(o, mfi.sha, mfi.mode, path,
-                                             0 /* update_cache */, 1 /* update_working_directory */);
                }
+               update_file(o, mfi.clean, mfi.sha, mfi.mode, path);
        } else if (!o_sha && !a_sha && !b_sha) {
                /*
                 * this entry was deleted altogether. a_mode == 0 means