git-checkout.txt: clarify that <branch> applies when no path is given.
authorMatthieu Moy <Matthieu.Moy@imag.fr>
Tue, 7 Apr 2009 12:43:53 +0000 (14:43 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 8 Apr 2009 04:57:12 +0000 (21:57 -0700)
Otherwise, the sentence "Defaults to HEAD." can be mis-read to mean
that "git checkout -- hello.c" checks-out from HEAD.

Signed-off-by: Matthieu Moy <Matthieu.Moy@imag.fr>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-checkout.txt

index 8830479..19510de 100644 (file)
@@ -85,9 +85,13 @@ should result in deletion of the path).
 <new_branch>::
        Name for the new branch.
 
+<tree-ish>::
+       Tree to checkout from (when paths are given). If not specified,
+       the index will be used.
+
 <branch>::
-       Branch to checkout; may be any object ID that resolves to a
-       commit.  Defaults to HEAD.
+       Branch to checkout (when no paths are given); may be any object
+       ID that resolves to a commit.  Defaults to HEAD.
 +
 When this parameter names a non-branch (but still a valid commit object),
 your HEAD becomes 'detached'.