travis-ci: run gcc-8 on linux-gcc jobs
authorNguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
Sat, 19 May 2018 04:32:34 +0000 (06:32 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 21 May 2018 05:14:09 +0000 (14:14 +0900)
Switch from gcc-4.8 to gcc-8. Newer compilers come with more warning
checks (usually in -Wextra).  Since -Wextra is enabled in developer
mode (which is also enabled in travis), this lets travis report more
warnings before other people do it.

Signed-off-by: Nguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
.travis.yml
ci/lib-travisci.sh

index 5f5ee4f..4d4e26c 100644 (file)
@@ -16,10 +16,13 @@ compiler:
 
 addons:
   apt:
+    sources:
+    - ubuntu-toolchain-r-test
     packages:
     - language-pack-is
     - git-svn
     - apache2
+    - gcc-8
 
 matrix:
   include:
index 109ef28..ceecc88 100755 (executable)
@@ -99,6 +99,9 @@ export DEFAULT_TEST_TARGET=prove
 export GIT_PROVE_OPTS="--timer --jobs 3 --state=failed,slow,save"
 export GIT_TEST_OPTS="--verbose-log -x"
 export GIT_TEST_CLONE_2GB=YesPlease
+if [ "$jobname" = linux-gcc ]; then
+       export CC=gcc-8
+fi
 
 case "$jobname" in
 linux-clang|linux-gcc)