grep: NUL terminate input from a file
authorJim Meyering <jim@meyering.net>
Mon, 18 Jan 2010 21:55:07 +0000 (22:55 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 19 Jan 2010 01:01:29 +0000 (17:01 -0800)
Internally "git grep" runs regexec(3) that expects its input string
to be NUL terminated.  When searching inside blob data, read_sha1_file()
automatically gives such a buffer, but builtin-grep.c forgot to put
the NUL at the end, even though it allocated enough space for it.

Signed-off-by: Jim Meyering <meyering@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin-grep.c

index d79a626..63dc31c 100644 (file)
@@ -207,6 +207,7 @@ static int grep_file(struct grep_opt *opt, const char *filename)
                return 0;
        }
        close(i);
+       data[sz] = 0;
        if (opt->relative && opt->prefix_length)
                filename = quote_path_relative(filename, -1, &buf, opt->prefix);
        i = grep_buffer(opt, filename, data, sz);