t7502: properly quote GIT_EDITOR
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Thu, 26 Jul 2012 20:28:00 +0000 (16:28 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 26 Jul 2012 21:23:35 +0000 (14:23 -0700)
One of the tests tries to ensure that editor is not run due
to an early failure. However, it needs to quote the pathname
of the trash directory used in $GIT_EDITOR, since git will
pass it along to the shell. In other words, the test would
pass whether the code was correct or not, since the unquoted
editor specification would never run.

We never noticed the problem because the code is indeed
correct, so git-commit never even tried to run the editor.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t7502-commit.sh

index ddce53a..3f9fb55 100755 (executable)
@@ -290,7 +290,7 @@ test_expect_success 'do not fire editor in the presence of conflicts' '
        test_must_fail git cherry-pick -n master &&
        echo "editor not started" >.git/result &&
        (
-               GIT_EDITOR="$(pwd)/.git/FAKE_EDITOR" &&
+               GIT_EDITOR="\"$(pwd)/.git/FAKE_EDITOR\"" &&
                export GIT_EDITOR &&
                test_must_fail git commit
        ) &&