Do not rename read-only files during a push
authorPetr Baudis <pasky@suse.cz>
Fri, 3 Oct 2008 10:20:43 +0000 (12:20 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 18 Oct 2008 14:16:38 +0000 (07:16 -0700)
Win32 does not allow renaming read-only files (at least on a Samba
share), making push into a local directory to fail. Thus, defer
the chmod() call in index-pack.c:final() only after
move_temp_to_file() was called.

Signed-off-by: Petr Baudis <pasky@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Shawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
index-pack.c

index d3a4d31..aec11cb 100644 (file)
@@ -790,7 +790,6 @@ static void final(const char *final_pack_name, const char *curr_pack_name,
                err = close(output_fd);
                if (err)
                        die("error while closing pack file: %s", strerror(errno));
-               chmod(curr_pack_name, 0444);
        }
 
        if (keep_msg) {
@@ -824,8 +823,9 @@ static void final(const char *final_pack_name, const char *curr_pack_name,
                if (move_temp_to_file(curr_pack_name, final_pack_name))
                        die("cannot store pack file");
        }
+       if (from_stdin)
+               chmod(final_pack_name, 0444);
 
-       chmod(curr_index_name, 0444);
        if (final_index_name != curr_index_name) {
                if (!final_index_name) {
                        snprintf(name, sizeof(name), "%s/pack/pack-%s.idx",
@@ -835,6 +835,7 @@ static void final(const char *final_pack_name, const char *curr_pack_name,
                if (move_temp_to_file(curr_index_name, final_index_name))
                        die("cannot store index file");
        }
+       chmod(final_index_name, 0444);
 
        if (!from_stdin) {
                printf("%s\n", sha1_to_hex(sha1));