prompt: clean up strbuf usage
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Fri, 3 Feb 2012 22:14:11 +0000 (17:14 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 3 Feb 2012 22:37:02 +0000 (14:37 -0800)
The do_askpass function inherited a few bad habits from the
original git_getpass. One, there's no need to strbuf_reset a
buffer which was just initialized. And two, it's a good
habit to use strbuf_detach to claim ownership of a buffer's
string (even though in this case the owning buffer goes out
of scope, so it's effectively the same thing).

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
prompt.c

index 72ab9de..64f817b 100644 (file)
--- a/prompt.c
+++ b/prompt.c
@@ -21,7 +21,6 @@ static char *do_askpass(const char *cmd, const char *prompt)
        if (start_command(&pass))
                exit(1);
 
-       strbuf_reset(&buffer);
        if (strbuf_read(&buffer, pass.out, 20) < 0)
                die("failed to get '%s' from %s\n", prompt, cmd);
 
@@ -32,7 +31,7 @@ static char *do_askpass(const char *cmd, const char *prompt)
 
        strbuf_setlen(&buffer, strcspn(buffer.buf, "\r\n"));
 
-       return buffer.buf;
+       return strbuf_detach(&buffer, NULL);
 }
 
 char *git_prompt(const char *prompt, int flags)