"remote update": print remote name being fetched from
authorSamuel Tardieu <sam@rfc1149.net>
Sun, 9 Mar 2008 12:37:55 +0000 (13:37 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 12 Mar 2008 05:13:16 +0000 (22:13 -0700)
When the other end has dangling symref, "git fetch" issues an error
message but that is not grave enough to cause the fetch process to fail.
As the result, the user will see something like this:

    $ git remote update
    error: refs/heads/2.0-uobjects points nowhere!

"remote update" used to report which remote it is fetching from, like
this:

    $ git remote update
    Updating core
    Updating matthieu
    error: refs/heads/2.0-uobjects points nowhere!
    Updating origin

This reinstates the message "Updating <name>" in "git remote update".

Signed-off-by: Samuel Tardieu <sam@rfc1149.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin-remote.c

index 637b904..24e6929 100644 (file)
@@ -46,6 +46,7 @@ static int opt_parse_track(const struct option *opt, const char *arg, int not)
 static int fetch_remote(const char *name)
 {
        const char *argv[] = { "fetch", name, NULL };
+       printf("Updating %s\n", name);
        if (run_command_v_opt(argv, RUN_GIT_CMD))
                return error("Could not fetch %s", name);
        return 0;