Mention 'cpio' dependency in INSTALL
authorJohan Herland <johan@herland.net>
Tue, 2 Oct 2007 23:42:29 +0000 (01:42 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 3 Oct 2007 00:35:29 +0000 (17:35 -0700)
Signed-off-by: Johan Herland <johan@herland.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
INSTALL

diff --git a/INSTALL b/INSTALL
index 289b046..f1eb404 100644 (file)
--- a/INSTALL
+++ b/INSTALL
@@ -79,6 +79,9 @@ Issues of note:
        - "perl" and POSIX-compliant shells are needed to use most of
          the barebone Porcelainish scripts.
 
+       - "cpio" is used by git-merge for saving and restoring the index,
+         and by git-clone when doing a local (possibly hardlinked) clone.
+
  - Some platform specific issues are dealt with Makefile rules,
    but depending on your specific installation, you may not
    have all the libraries/tools needed, or you may have