fix usage string for git grep
authorJonathan Nieder <jrnieder@uchicago.edu>
Sun, 20 Jul 2008 19:13:08 +0000 (14:13 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 20 Jul 2008 20:01:26 +0000 (13:01 -0700)
Without this patch, git-grep gives confusing usage information:

$ git grep --confused
usage: git grep <option>* <rev>* [-e] <pattern> [<path>...]
$ git grep HEAD pattern
fatal: ambiguous argument 'pattern': unknown revision or path no
t in the working tree.
Use '--' to separate paths from revisions

So put <pattern> before the <rev>s, in accordance with actual correct
usage.  While we're changing the usage string, we might as well include
the "--" separating revisions and paths, too.

Signed-off-by: Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@uchicago.edu>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin-grep.c

index 6475350..d8b06ce 100644 (file)
@@ -498,7 +498,7 @@ static int grep_object(struct grep_opt *opt, const char **paths,
 }
 
 static const char builtin_grep_usage[] =
-"git-grep <option>* <rev>* [-e] <pattern> [<path>...]";
+"git-grep <option>* [-e] <pattern> <rev>* [[--] <path>...]";
 
 static const char emsg_invalid_context_len[] =
 "%s: invalid context length argument";