read-cache: free cache entry in add_to_index in case of early return
authorStefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Sat, 21 Mar 2015 00:28:00 +0000 (17:28 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 22 Mar 2015 19:11:25 +0000 (12:11 -0700)
This frees `ce` would be leaking in the error path.

Additionally a free is moved towards the return. This helps code
readability as we often have this pattern of freeing resources just
before return/exit and not in between the code.

Signed-off-by: Stefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
read-cache.c

index 8d71860..60abec6 100644 (file)
@@ -681,15 +681,18 @@ int add_to_index(struct index_state *istate, const char *path, struct stat *st,
        alias = index_file_exists(istate, ce->name, ce_namelen(ce), ignore_case);
        if (alias && !ce_stage(alias) && !ie_match_stat(istate, alias, st, ce_option)) {
                /* Nothing changed, really */
-               free(ce);
                if (!S_ISGITLINK(alias->ce_mode))
                        ce_mark_uptodate(alias);
                alias->ce_flags |= CE_ADDED;
+
+               free(ce);
                return 0;
        }
        if (!intent_only) {
-               if (index_path(ce->sha1, path, st, HASH_WRITE_OBJECT))
+               if (index_path(ce->sha1, path, st, HASH_WRITE_OBJECT)) {
+                       free(ce);
                        return error("unable to index file %s", path);
+               }
        } else
                set_object_name_for_intent_to_add_entry(ce);