bisect_next_all: convert xsnprintf to xstrfmt
authorMaxim Moseychuk <franchesko.salias.hudro.pedros@gmail.com>
Thu, 16 Feb 2017 17:07:12 +0000 (20:07 +0300)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 16 Feb 2017 19:28:17 +0000 (11:28 -0800)
Git can't run bisect between 2048+ commits if use russian
translation, because the translated string is too long for the fixed
buffer it uses (this can be reproduced "LANG=ru_RU.UTF8 git bisect
start v4.9 v4.8" on linux sources).

Use xstrfmt() to format the message string to sufficiently sized
buffer instead to fix this.

Signed-off-by: Maxim Moseychuk <franchesko.salias.hudro.pedros@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
bisect.c

index 21bc6da..787543c 100644 (file)
--- a/bisect.c
+++ b/bisect.c
@@ -940,7 +940,7 @@ int bisect_next_all(const char *prefix, int no_checkout)
        struct commit_list *tried;
        int reaches = 0, all = 0, nr, steps;
        const unsigned char *bisect_rev;
-       char steps_msg[32];
+       char *steps_msg;
 
        read_bisect_terms(&term_bad, &term_good);
        if (read_bisect_refs())
@@ -990,14 +990,15 @@ int bisect_next_all(const char *prefix, int no_checkout)
 
        nr = all - reaches - 1;
        steps = estimate_bisect_steps(all);
-       xsnprintf(steps_msg, sizeof(steps_msg),
-                 Q_("(roughly %d step)", "(roughly %d steps)", steps),
-                 steps);
+
+       steps_msg = xstrfmt(Q_("(roughly %d step)", "(roughly %d steps)",
+                 steps), steps);
        /* TRANSLATORS: the last %s will be replaced with
           "(roughly %d steps)" translation */
        printf(Q_("Bisecting: %d revision left to test after this %s\n",
                  "Bisecting: %d revisions left to test after this %s\n",
                  nr), nr, steps_msg);
+       free(steps_msg);
 
        return bisect_checkout(bisect_rev, no_checkout);
 }