git-status: do not be totally useless in a read-only repository.
authorJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Thu, 22 Feb 2007 08:28:49 +0000 (00:28 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Thu, 22 Feb 2007 08:31:51 +0000 (00:31 -0800)
This makes git-status work semi-decently in a read-only
repository.  Earlier, the command simply died with "cannot lock
the index file" before giving any useful information to the
user.

Because index won't be updated in a read-only repository,
stat-dirty paths appear in the "Changed but not updated" list.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
git-commit.sh

index ec506d9..cfa1511 100755 (executable)
@@ -13,10 +13,10 @@ git-rev-parse --verify HEAD >/dev/null 2>&1 || initial_commit=t
 case "$0" in
 *status)
        status_only=t
-       unmerged_ok_if_status=--unmerged ;;
+       ;;
 *commit)
        status_only=
-       unmerged_ok_if_status= ;;
+       ;;
 esac
 
 refuse_partial () {
@@ -389,16 +389,17 @@ else
        USE_INDEX="$THIS_INDEX"
 fi
 
-GIT_INDEX_FILE="$USE_INDEX" \
-       git-update-index -q $unmerged_ok_if_status --refresh || exit
-
-################################################################
-# If the request is status, just show it and exit.
-
-case "$0" in
-*status)
+case "$status_only" in
+t)
+       # This will silently fail in a read-only repository, which is
+       # what we want.
+       GIT_INDEX_FILE="$USE_INDEX" git-update-index -q --unmerged --refresh
        run_status
        exit $?
+       ;;
+'')
+       GIT_INDEX_FILE="$USE_INDEX" git-update-index -q --refresh || exit
+       ;;
 esac
 
 ################################################################